01: The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage (The Find-Outers)

01: The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage (The Find-Outers)

Language: English

Pages: 0

ISBN: B01E4B6Z72

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven.

Someone has set fire to Mr Hick's cottage, but who could it be? Fatty, Larry, Daisy, Pip, Bets and Buster the dog have their very first case to solve. But it's not easy being detectives with policeman Mr Goon telling them to "clear orf". The Find-Outers are determined - they have to solve the mystery before Mr Goon does!

First published in 1943, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

The Haunted Mask II (Goosebumps, Book 36)

High Time for Heroes (Magic Tree House, Book 51)

Summer of the Sea Serpent (Magic Tree House, Book 31)

Phantom Stallion (Desert Dancer, Book 7)

Sylva and the Fairy Ball (The Fairy Bell Sisters, Book 1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mystery 01-Mystery of the Burnt Cottage - Blyton, Enid. The Five Find-Outers and Buster the Dog. The Burning Cottage. It was at half-past nine on a dark April night that all the excitement began. The village of Peterswood was perfectly quiet and peaceful, except for a dog barking somewhere. Then suddenly, to the west of the village, a great light flared up. Larry Daykin was just getting into bed when he saw it. He had pulled back his curtains so that the daylight would wake him, and he

“And good homes I’ve found for every single one of them, when they’re old enough.” Mr. Hick then saw the two children, and appeared to be just as displeased to see them as he had been to see the kittens. “What are these children doing here?” he asked sharply. “You ought to know better, Mrs. Minus., than to keep your kitchen full of tiresome children and wretched cats and kittens! Tell them to go!” He marched out of the door, first setting down the empty cup and saucer he was carrying. Mrs.

appeared, followed by the much smaller Bets., panting behind him. “Seen the burnt-up cottage this morning?” asked Larry. “Yes. And I say, what do you think - they say somebody burnt it down on purpose - that it wasn’t an accident after all!” said Pip, excited. “On purpose!” said Larry and Daisy. “But whoever would do a thing like that!” “Don’t know,” said Pip, “I overheard somebody talking about it They said that the insurance people had been down already, and some fire expert they brought

“What you doing?” yelled Mr. Goon, as Larry stood His bicycle upright,, ready to mount again. “I’m clearing orf!” shouted Larry. “Can’t you see? I’m clearing orf!” And the three of them rode giggling down the hill, pausing to wonder every now and again if old Clear-Orf was on his way to see Horace Peeks! Well - Horace was now warned by Lily’s letter - so Mr. Goon wouldn’t get much out of him, that was certain! The Tramp turns up Again. It was seven o’clock when the three of them rode up Pip’s

“Here’s some children with the kitten.” Mrs. Minns appeared at the door. She was a round, fat woman, short and panting, with sleeves rolled up above her podgy elbows. “Is this your kitten?” asked Pip again, and Daisy held it out to show the cook. “Now where did it get to this time?” said Mrs. Minns, taking it, and squeezing it against her. “Sweetie! Sweetie! Here’s your kitten again! Why don’t you look after it better?” A large black and white cat strolled out of the kitchen, and looked

Download sample

Download