School of Charm

School of Charm

Lisa Ann Scott

Language: English

Pages: 304

ISBN: 006220758X

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool, and Rebecca Stead.

Eleven-year-old Chip has always been her daddy's girl, so when he dies she pins her hopes on winning a beauty pageant to show her family of southern belles that she still belongs. But she'd rather be covered in mud than makeup! Can a rough-and-tumble girl ever become a beauty queen? A universal story about finding your place in the world, School of Charm explores themes of loss, family, and friendship.

Bats at the Beach

The Girl Who Never Made Mistakes

My Name Is Not Isabella

A Perfect Time for Pandas (Magic Tree House, Book 48)

Sky High (Zigzag Kids, Book 7)

The Black Stallion's Blood Bay Colt (Black Stallion, Book 6)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

doesn’t hurt your heart so much.” I ran to her and wrapped my arms around her. She patted my back. She smelled like sugar and lavender and something that softened my heart. Picking up the bowl, she set Earl on the corner of her covered deck. Miss Vernie cupped my cheek in her hand. Then she sat down and picked up her paper again. “Did you girls know they’re going to test the space shuttle this month with the first manned flights? Isn’t that exciting?” Miss Vernie was always telling us about

dresses carefully laid out on the plastic-covered couch. Grandma stood next to them, smiling at the dresses like they were new grandbabies or something. Mama waved me over. “Chip, come look at my old pageant dresses. Grandma saved them, can you believe it?” Charlene held up a pale pink one in front of her, running her hands over the shiny material. “You could use that for the talent portion,” Grandma said. “Go try it on. Cecelia, you try one on too.” “It won’t fit anymore,” Mama said. “Just

dresses carefully laid out on the plastic-covered couch. Grandma stood next to them, smiling at the dresses like they were new grandbabies or something. Mama waved me over. “Chip, come look at my old pageant dresses. Grandma saved them, can you believe it?” Charlene held up a pale pink one in front of her, running her hands over the shiny material. “You could use that for the talent portion,” Grandma said. “Go try it on. Cecelia, you try one on too.” “It won’t fit anymore,” Mama said. “Just

her. Miss Vernie patted the chair next to her. “Sit down, Brenda. Just a few touches here and there will do the trick.” A feathery brush tickled my eyelids. Then she coated my eyelashes with mascara. “Part your lips,” Miss Vernie said. I did, and she slicked on a coat of lipstick. I smacked my lips together. “Yuck, it tastes waxy. And my eyes feel itchy.” “You’re just not used to it.” Miss Vernie handed me a mirror. “What do you think?” I looked at myself. “I don’t look that different.”

with their programs and watched my pathetic journey. Laughter and music from the festival outside floated in through the open gymnasium doors. “Hi, Chip!” I heard Ruthie call. Everyone turned to look. Mama pressed her hand over Ruthie’s mouth and smiled. Ruthie was still waving. This finally made me smile. I waved back and saw Grandma frown. I turned away from her and walked over to Jack and blew out a breath; I was going to have to answer his questions now. “Miss Anderson, why are you the

Download sample

Download